Toy Story 3- The BEST movie I’ve seen in 2010

Ah, Toy Story. Who doesn’t remember when the original film came out, the one that started it all? Who has forgotten about the ground-breaking animation and cinematic genius that Pixar put into this film? I know I still have fond memories of Toy Story. The first film was one of the first movies I saw in theaters. I had already been introduced to great movies, but those all came out before I was even born, or when I was too young to appreciate them.

I have always been a Disney kid. The first VHS I ever owned? Beauty and the Beast. My first family vacation? Disney World. Ninety-nine percent of my karaoke tapes and soundtracks? Something to do with a Disney Princess. I’m still a Disney kid. I mean, who isn’t? When it all comes down to it, Disney is still the number one provider of entertainment in the film industry, television industry, and even the toy industry. Yes, folks, Disney is a major part of our lives.

And Disney has successfully joined forces with Pixar again to make the best movie I’ve seen in 2010. Yes, I’ve seen Avatar. It was garbage. Don’t hate my opinion, respect it. I’m a movie lover by nature and I like to critique movies as well. Avatar was crap. It was Pocahontas and Fern Gully with pretty attached.

Now I can’t say I’ve seen every movie that has been released this year, but I have seen many. I will probably see many, many, many more. But I will probably stick with this decision: Toy Story 3 is the best movie to come out this year. I expect it to possibly be nominated for an Academy Award at next year’s Oscars. I don’t expect it to win, just because Pixar does sometimes get snubbed when it shouldn’t be. Plus, unlike WALL-E, Toy Story 3 is more fun than “life changing.” (Don’t get me wrong, WALL-E was fun as well, but it had a message attached. Toy Story 3 has one as well, but for the sake of those that haven’t seen it, I won’t reveal too much.)

The story opens with the toys trying to trick Andy into playing with them. At this point in time, Andy is seventeen years old and getting ready to go off to college. (I guess the kid’s a genius. Almost everyone I know went to college at eighteen.) The toys end up at a daycare, where they discover a lot about themselves and the true nature of some of the “friendly” toys they encountered.

I refuse to continue with the storyline due to the fact I hate to spoil movies, but it’s pretty great. The 3-D is done nicely as well, I might add. There isn’t something popping out at you every time you look at the screen. The 3-D was done tastefully and flowed very well with the film. Pixar didn’t try to hard with it. Disney looks like it’s going to be good with the 3-D film business. The last 3-D movie I saw was A Christmas Carol and its special effects weren’t forced, either.

I give Toy Story 3 my full recommendation to anyone who enjoys a movie. I was glad to be one of the firsts to see it. It was a great pleasure to sit in a theater with my boyfriend and have some popcorn while one of my childhood memories pranced across the screen. Toy Story 3 was beautifully done and well written for a film directed at children. I don’t think that Disney’s main demographic with this movie is kids though. I think that it’s people my age who loved and practically worshiped the first two. I saw almost as many people around their late-teens and twenties as I saw little kids with their Buzz Lightyear shirts and Woody dolls in the theater I was in. It’s not just a nostalgia factor, either. Toy Story 3 is supposed to appeal to that age group. Andy grew up with us. He’s our age now and we’re going through much of the same thing. I know I’m too old for my Barbies and baby dolls. I had to get rid of some things when I went to college that I had fallen in love with as a child. I’m just glad that not everything that I fell in love with is gone.

That’s why Toy Story 3 gets two thumbs up and a big goofy grin out of me.

About bookgirl3410

I'm an English major at East Tennessee State University. I love to read, but I haven't in a while. So I'm going to start reading every book on my bookshelf that I haven't read, re-read some others on there, and then start on some classics.
This entry was posted in Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Toy Story 3- The BEST movie I’ve seen in 2010

  1. Matt Potter says:

    I agree 100% with you. This movie was fantastic! It also hit quite close to home. I, like you, grew up with Disney/Pixar and it was ironic to me that the new film had Andy leave for college the same year I’ll be leaving for college. I went with my mother and she got very emotional about it because that’s where we’re at in our lives right now. It was an excellent film, and if I had three thumbs they’d all be up.

Leave a comment